District Founders

The Foothill-De Anza Community College District, founded in 1957, is the result of countless individuals who have devoted their time, energy and talent to help create one of the premier community college districts in the country. This page is devoted to just a few of the key people who blazed new trails in the late 1950s and early 1960s to fund, design, build and lead our two colleges to national acclaim. Their dedication was boundless, their efforts were Herculean, their energy was seemingly limitless. They remain an inspiration to all faculty, staff and administrators.



A formal portrait photo of Calvin C. Flint, the first Foothill president and the first district superintendent. Photo taken in early 1960s.

Dr. Calvin C. Flint

First President, Foothill College; First District Superintendent





Dr. Robert C. Smithwick

First President of the Board of Trustees.



Coming Soon:

Dr. A. Robert DeHart

First Dean of Students, Foothill College; First President, De Anza College.